Blog Article from Laura!

Happy 2017!!

Recently I caught a clip of an interview with a successful real estate agent, forgive me for not remembering his name. What caught my attention were his comments regarding new year resolutions.

Interestingly, he believes that resolutions set us up for failures, in other words being resolute doesn’t leave a lot of room for setbacks, learning curves or do overs, right?  Let’s keep in mind that we are human and creatures of habit so it’s a natural tendency to give up when we slip up…or maybe just too easy?

Instead of resolutions, this successful mogul focuses on personal New Year’s Aspirations. He believes that it is more effective to aspire to goals and dreams than to resolve to change.

New Year’s Aspirations just sounds less daunting, right?! Don’t we all have areas in our life that we aspire to improve? The difficulty lies in the effort it takes to consciously make those personal changes or improvements. Aspiring means to seek ambitiously or to direct ones hopes or ambitions toward achieving something. Starting the new year off with hope and ambition sounds like a great start to me!!

So, with that being said, I thought I would put out for the world to witness (or at least the few who read this blog) my New Year’s Aspirations.

Here it goes…

I am going to aspire to be a messenger of my faith by spreading the gospel when the opportunity arises and not remain silent due to fear of conflict.

I am going to aspire to be a better listener, to be in the moment and not distracted by all of the white noise around me.

I am going to aspire to be more mindful of my husband’s wants and needs by applying above listening skills.

I am going to aspire to focus on my family by guiding my adult children through my examples of faith, courage and strength in both positive and difficult situations.

I am going to aspire to be more productive by focusing on completing tasks on my “to do list” daily with less procrastination! That’s a biggie for a natural procrastinator:/

I am going to aspire to be a more effective business partner by remaining focused on solutions instead of the problems.

Lastly, I am going to aspire to be a beacon of light in a world that seems very dark right now by loving, empathizing and giving grace to not only those who agree with my views but more importantly for those who do not. The Lord commands us to love thy neighbor and not to limit love to only those whom we relate to.

I pray everyone reading this has a blessed 2017 and aspires to be the difference you want to see in the world as we begin this and every year moving forward.

God Bless, Laura Darkangelo

Leave a Reply

